top of page

MY FIRT FASHION CAMPAIGN!

As much as much as I’ve been in the ‘modelling’ game for about 6 years now, I’ve never really done any major campaigns or anything of the sort. I did star on Karun’s Empawa music video for Glow Up mid last year which was a fun production, but other than that most of my ‘model’ work has just been random moody aesthetic inspired photoshoots done when concepts, vision and cameras come together. I use the term model loosely because I am barely that, but I do however love being the inspiration behind various visual concepts and musing them both behind and in front of the scene.

All my life I’ve been told I should be a model anyway, so being in front of the camera comes very naturally to me :) and picking up the camera itself as a kid came just as easy.


ANYWAY ~


TABASAMU: TIE DYE ADDICTION BROUGHT TO YOU BY BONKERZ


The days leading up to the shoot were wholesome AF and the shoot day itself was a magical experience in itself.

Firstly, the campaign was for Tie & Dye. My hippie heart was ECSTATIC!


Secondly, the art direction?? Lauren and Nu Fvnk were in charge ~ magical duo 🦄✨


Thirdly, the days were an immersion of an ETHEREAL PISCES FULL MOON 🐬💦 aaaaand Mvoo (owner and chief designer of Bonkerz) just happens to be Pisces. Coincidence? I think not.

We did both indoor and outdoor scenes. Card games, picnic vibes, fruit, flowers, pastries, champagne, the colours, and did I mention the cast?? 💎

DREAMY RADICAL ENERGY ALL ROUND


As the day passed by, we watched the full moon rise in the warmest orange glow we’d ever seen in concrete Nairobi. It was like a cosign from universe acknowledging the beautiful work we were doing together as friends and as creatives for a vision we all saw.


Team Work Makes The Dream Work Uno??


By this time Lauren and Nash (stylist and assistant stylist) had put us in darker toned tie & dye outfits suited to match the energy of the night. A bit of punk, a bit of grunge, all sexy.




My own personal aesthetic incorporates a huge chunk of grunge + hippie elements, so I was deadass having a good time. By this point of the evening I was inspired by the art direction and styling we had been around and put in and being the intricate mood setter that I am, I couldn't help but to cue a playlist to set the tone for the evening notions.


Shout out to Mvroe and Sichangi for setting the mood right on the daylight sets too because the vibe alignment was real.


Go cop that TABASAMU: TIE DYE ADDICTION from Bonkerz ASAP.

You can also peep a piece I wrote for Tangaza Magazine where Mvoo explains to me where the concept of TABASAMU comes from.


CREDITS:

Art direction and styling :@flowerandsphinx

Assistant stylist :@nashipai_w

Camera Assist :@see.through.solomon

2nd Assist :@xmdidit

Digital photography:@nufvnk

Film photography: @flowerandsphinx

bottom of page